Saturday, June 14, 2014

"Chakra Ascension" Series- 1 Muladhara

In 2003, I created seven 3D images that I intended to be a series.

The images show a solitary, meditating figure in different environments. Each setting corresponds to the ancient metaphysical energy system within the body, known as "chakras".

I am not a chakra meditation practitioner, so I approached this as a metaphorical work of art. I've finally decided to post the "Chakra Ascension" series, for other people to contemplate.

I'll be introducing a new image every day, from now until the Summer Solstice- June 21, 2014.

*Now that it's complete, here is a link to the whole series. There's also a free e-book version that can be downloaded at this link :

by Paul Micarelli

Scroll down for a description of Chakra 1, Muladhara.  

Click for larger images
From "Chakra Ascension" Series by Paul Micarelli


This image represents the 1st level of Ascension- the Root Chakra, Muladhara.

The color associated with this chakra is red, and the element is earth.

This energy center is located at the base of the spine.
In this image we see the representation of this chakra, the first stage of spiritual evolution.

Muladhara is characterized by burning, raw emotion, such as; sexual impulse, anger, and fear.
These instincts, which are the basis for our survival, can also lead to much of the suffering we feel in life.

The red hot lava, eating away at the solid rock, shows how these powerful emotions can dissolve away solid reasoning if left unchecked.
However, the lava also is creating new formations at the same time, so these feelings can alternately be a foundation for learning- if we can transform them from destructive energies into a way to understand the mind and our control over it.

As the root chakra, this level also represents the birth and creation of dynamic energy, through the formation of the Earth.
Here we see our primordial planet, which has all the necessary ingredients to eventually create human life, but is currently too volatile to maintain it.
Likewise, someone who dwells in this mental state cannot follow a productive spiritual path, despite the potential for change.

Only when these passions are cooled, and solidified into a stable and balanced emotional life, can this stage really be a foundation to advance to a higher plane of thought.

The close proximity of The Observer to the Earth's surface illustrates the idea of this stage as a grounding experience.
This is the level where we become familiar with the processes that make us alive and vital, although refusing to rise any higher will eventually lead to being consumed.

We are intimately connected with this planet, and also with our primal emotions.
Our attachment to them makes us human, but ultimately they must be transcended for the individual to evolve and for the human race to continue into the future.

The next stage is the 2nd Sacral Chakra- Svadhisthana

No comments: